Distinguished Alumni Award

Tommy Sheppard, ’91, Bachelor of Community Health

Senior Vice President of Basketball Operations, NBA Washington Wizards
2018 College of Health and Social Services Distinguished Alumnus

Tommy Sheppard’s favorite memory of NMSU starts in 1990. It was the year in Aggie Athletics, for a young NM State fan and student, he will never forget – the year the NM State Men’s Basketball team defeated UNLV at home in the Pan American Center. It is the same UNLV team that went on to win the national championship later that year.

His love for sports guided him in life. He played football for three seasons at NMSU and worked in the athletic department as a student assistant to the sports information director for two years.

After graduating from NMSU in 1991 with a bachelor’s degree in community health, Sheppard started a career working at UNLV as the sports information director until 1994 when he was hired by the Denver Nuggets of the National Basketball Association.

Some 25 years later, he is now the senior vice president of basketball operations for the NBA’s Washington Wizards in the nation’s capital. In this role, he manages salary caps, negotiations, draft preparation and talent evaluation of collegiate athletes and professionals, both domestically and abroad.

To learn more about the NMSU Alumni Association’s Distinguished Alumni Award, visit: http://advancing.nmsu.edu/alumni/awards-and-programs/distinguished-alumni-award

We’re proud of our previous Distinguished Alumni Award recipients:

2017 Sue Gerber

2016 John E. Scarbrough

2015 Sharon Huerta

2014 Christopher M. Ledingham

2013 Margaret McCowen

2012 Diana Fancher

2011 Melanie Goodman

2010 Betty Jean Shinas

2009 Judith Bauer Creegan

2008 Terra Winter

2007 Gena W. Jones

2006 Barbara Joan Bishop

2005 Leonel Briseno

2004 Amer J. Taha

2003 Kathryn M. Autrey

2002 Ann Stege Anderson

2001 Albert Esparsen II

2000 Kay Cargill Jenkins

1999 Madeline Messick

1998 Sharon Levey

1997 Susan Cardenas

1996 Mary Jo Solon

1995 Joel A. Arrigucci

1994 Carol J. Jimenez

1993 Susan Z. Washam

1992 Sarah Alexander Boggs

1991 Sandra Rotruck

1990 Lawrence A. Banegas

1989 Robin Lee Woolley

1988 Carol Smallwood

1987 Fern Dahlgren


Translate »